About the Council

There has been a Parish or Town Council in Verwood since 1894 when it had a population of 1,190. By 1931 the population had grown to 1,605 and by 2010 it was over 14,000. Over recent years the growth rate has significantly slowed since the strategic growth identified in the 1980s was completed.

Verwood Town Council, the elected body of the Town, consists of eighteen members representing the Civil Parish. There are four wards in the Civil Parish: Dewlands North Ward (two councillors), Dewlands South Ward (eight councillors), Stephen's Castle Ward (seven councillors) and Three Legged Cross Ward (one councillor), visit our Your Councillors page for more information on the Councillors.

As a Council they meet eight times a year at the Council Offices and three times a year at the Village Hall, Three Legged Cross.

The Council operates with two sub-committees which each report to the full Council; the Finance & Policy Committee and the Community & Planning Consultative Committee

All Full Council and sub-committee meetings are held in the evening and are open to members of the public.

At the end of a Full Council meeting the Mayor shall take questions from any electors of the Civil Parish for a period of 15 minutes.

At Full Council and sub-committee meetings, any member of the public may comment on an issue being debated in order to provide information or clarification, with permission and at the discretion of the Chairman. This facility will normally be limited to a maximum of only three minutes per person. If you wish to speak on an item on the Agenda please inform the Chairman before the start of the meeting.